Create an Account Free Trial

Get nominating for the NGA Outstanding Governance Awards

NGA Awards Logo

Get nominating for the NGA Outstanding Governance Awards

Share this:

Nominations are now open for the biennial National Governors’ Association Outstanding Governance Awards. All subscribers to Modern Governor get a discount on NGA Membership, but your school doesn’t have to be a member of the NGA in order to be nominated for one of the two awards up for grabs – Outstanding Governing Board, and Outstanding Clerk:

Outstanding Governing Board

For this award, the NGA are looking for boards that clearly demonstrate the three key strategic functions a governing board should perform:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Hold the head to account for the performance of the school and its pupils;
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure money is well spent.

If the governors in your school have been instrumental in driving the school forward and improving educational outcomes, then why not nominate them?

Outstanding Clerk

Clerks are vital to the success of a governing board; they not only provide administration, but also volunteer advice and support.. Through their #ClerkingMatters campaign, the NGA is aiming to raise the status and professionalism of clerking so that more governors and trustees recognise the value of a trained and experienced clerk. They are in search of clerks who demonstrate the ten competencies of a good clerk (these are in Section 7 of the application form), are knowledgeable, and are invaluable to their boards, so nominating your clerk for this award, will demonstrate to them how much you value their contribution to the school.

Get your nominations in soon…

Both of these awards are open to any government funded school in England – LA maintained schools, academies, free schools, multi-academy trusts – you don’t need to be a member of the NGA to nominate a school, or a clerk, or be nominated yourself. Nomination forms can be downloaded from the NGA website, along with more information about what is looked for and the process of applying. Nominations close at noon on 1 December. As well as your nominations, any questions should be sent to

All the finalists will be invited to a prestigious awards ceremony in the House of Commons on 9 June 2015. Here are the winners of the 2013 awards:

Share this: